ALMD currently has two (2) planning Units: The Western Regional Unit & the Eastern Regional Unit.
The Western Regional Planning Unit which is located in Montego Bay serves the parishes of: St. James, Westmoreland, Hanover, Trelawny & St. Elizabeth.
Other functions of the Planning Unit include:
Assisting government and other agencies involved in planning process by providing advisory services on agricultural land use and change of use.
Development, implementation and monotoring of technical projects and programmes.
Coordination and management of regional programmes & activities.
Assisting with post disaster agricultural rehabilitation programme.
Examination of agricultural land management requests.
Research on agricultural land management issues.
Conduct Rural Land Evaluation Assessments.
Conduct site specific Land Capability Studies.
Conduct research on agricultural land use trends.
Produce soil survey reports.
Much of the work of the Planning Units involves physical resource inventory surveys and studies of specific agricultural land utilization and certification of mined-out lands.
The Eastern Regional Planning Unit which is located in Hope Gardens, serves the parishes of: Kingston, St. Andrew, St. Thomas, Portland, St. Mary, St. Ann, St. Catherine, Clarendon and Manchester.
ALMD Banner
|  Last Updated: April 2016 - (This site is best viewed with Google Chrome)
Ministry of Industry, Commerce, Agriculture & Fisheries
Government of Jamaica